Swooosh… That, That is the sound of a curse.

There are no such things as curses; only people and their decisions ~ Yvonne Wood

Most women do not choose to be women. at least not the ones that will relate to this post below.

Being a woman is work.

I see it everyday, women struggle to be women.

If they are not socially too fat, too loud, too thin, too career oriented, too marshy, too emotional, too quick to judge, too unfriendly, too hot, too short then they are just too female. I mean there is no getting it right when you are woman.

Society does not cut us any slack, the government doesn’t cut us any slack even our own family and friends don’t cut us any slack.

Today however I am not here to discuss the woman and her position in the society. No I am here to rant about our curse.

To the woman he said, I will greatly multiply your sorrow and your conception; in sorrow you shall bring forth children; and your desire shall be to your husband, and he shall rule over you. ~ Genesis 3:16

Anyways Eve (the First woman according to my bible) was so hungry that she ate a fruit and earned us a curse. At least she got cursed on a full stomach.. no? not a good joke… anyways.

While men were cursed to toil the earth to provide for their families, I see more women actually toiling to provide for their families how ironic.

Women on the other hand were told they shall 1. Have a Painful Childbirth 2. Their desire will be for their man 3. Man shall rule over them. I will not even touch 2 and 3… I cannot, not today…

And that is the genesis of my rant today… (every pun intended).

Childbirth is painful do not get me wrong, your insides are on fire while something akin to the size of a truck pushes through a passage that until a few minutes ago could only handle a few centimeters in diameter of a fun stick. Trust me NOTHING can explain that pain, I will not attempt to do so.

Be that as it may, it’s a one time thing and the next time you actually go through the same pain is in 9 months depending on how seriously you take the “Go ye forth and fill the earth” command.

However there is the small issue of blood thing(again pun intended) that women experience every month and for some even every 15 days. For me therein lies the curse.

Women have always been the strong ones of the world. The men are always seeking from women a little pillow to put their heads down on. They are always longing for the mother who held them as infants.~ Coco Chanel

Every month sometimes without warning you start by having cramps, all kinds of cramps, stomach, back and/or even private part cramps randomly; while in church, while with your date, while at a board meeting, I dont know.. go on, feel free to get creative with the different places.

One or two hundred thousand women are spared the cramps. Then there is also the possibility of mood swings, hormonal anger pangs (hope you see what I did there) maybe bouts of creativity (who knows with these bloody periods what happens to the body and the brain? will leave that to scientists)…

OK so you are lucky to be spared the above two very annoying situations (if I may be allowed to call them that) then there is actual blood flow. You sneeze and you almost feel like covering the bl***y v*****  instead of the mouth, You laugh and swooosh there is that feeling and you may sometimes stop mid way, you cough and wish you did not. It’s a disgusting feeling, trust me. If you could for that period ( in essence then for up-to two weeks for some women, they would rather not laugh, cough or sneeze… choices hunh?)

Then the bathroom breaks, every so many minutes or hours depending on your flow you gotta go to the bathroom and check, clean up and change. Almost instinctively. because there is no indicator or alarm for this that came with being a woman. In fact I dare say that the whole issue (again note what I did there) is very uncomfortable such that you do not need an indicator or an alarm to go check or change. Thank you very much.

So I have been asking myself, was the painful child-birth the real curse? Or was Painful Childbirth a collective outlook of the process of bringing a child to the world. I may be over thinking things here a little.

Truth is, however, monthly issue of blood, monthly period etc should be way up there right after Man shall rule over you. Because the way I see it, the curses were arranged in the order of the most painful one time thing to the most annoying, painful, regular thing. Hope y’all are getting my drift.

I know God will not give me anything I can’t handle. I just wish that He didn’t trust me so much. ~ Mother Teresa

So yes we do deserve a Global Women Day, A day dedicated to being born female. When all the women are not expected to go to work, they get free access to all the Spas around the world, they get the men to cook for them and wait on them and the children to thank us for bearing them with gifts and poems. They deserve one day that everything comes to them easy. A day that is also a Friday or Monday.

One day is enough.

One day per month is enough surely, right?  Right!

Yours Sincerely,

Lipstick Notes

Leave a Reply

