If Dolphins and/or Sharks came to check us humans out …

In my place of work we have a birthday tradition; we all contribute some amount and buy a cake to celebrate the birthday. So come your birthday we try as much as possible and make it a surprise.

I was born on 26th December; this makes the celebration of my birthday from the office extremely hard as for the last 4 years I have been on leave around that time. Anyway that notwithstanding I always contribute towards my other colleagues birthdays and up until recently I was always the one to call the cake house to make orders.

Anyway a very dear, bubbly and wonderful woman always made her birthday very special. Shewould come in and the first thing she would say is ‘is there something different about this day dear?” and she would go on and on about how she can’t wait for us to surprise (as if it was a surprise anymore) her with the cake…and enquiring whether or not we have already collected the money to pay for the cake…

It was so funny and yet we all loved it.

She used to make the office so lively, remember once we took a boat ride looking for dolphins… (Why do humans do that? Go into animals habitat to look for them? I mean do we see dolphins in the streets of New York or Mombasa for that matter taking a walk looking and musing at humans?).

Because  of my healthy fear of large water bodies and all, I was so scared  that I got an asthma attack (it’s my most embarrassing moment to date). She held me through out and when we got ashore and I was much better she kept saying, “You guys think I was scared? Hell No I was not! I would have thrown you to my back and swam ashore, I aint scared of nothing!!!.” It was scary alright, my colleague was so scared for me that she got a panic attack…

Sadly she left our company.

Today when I was writing someone an email and indicated the date as 17th something in my head clicked…and my! it’s her birthday…

So I called her to wish her a happy birthday and as always she was just happy and bubbly, she asks me OH MY GOD how could you remember? Like anyone can forget :-0

Anyways that got me thinking how much humans need each other, I mean it’s not my birthday but just hearing her voice talk about when she was here and laughing at her cartoon ways has uplifted my spirits in a special way…

And she is quite special in my life too, I owe a lot of life lessons to her… Happy Birthday Mother in Law…

This is my appreciation for being there with me… even when you had better things to do…Happy Birthday once again!

I am not young but I feel young. The day I feel old, I will go to bed and stay there. J’aime la vie! I feel that to live is a wonderful thing.
Coco Chanel

Leave a Reply

