Oh you still standing there waiting?… No Dum Dum am just amazed at how beautifully you wear your stupidity!

There is this customer that I visit every once in a while. The reception has three (3) receptionists that I was later to learn have an interesting way of extending their duties.

On the first day I visited them since they changed their office settings I walked over to Receptionist Number 1 who after hearing what I had to say just callously pointed to the one seated next to her. Oh, never mind that she could easily have told her colleague my request. So anyway, still keeping the faith I moved to Receptionist Number 2 who, after ignoring me for like 6 minutes, also sent me to Receptionist Number 3.

Now if you thought that this was enough to bug the living daylights out of me, I am sorry to disappoint you. You see, I had a deal in the pipeline and was hoping to close it on this particular day.

So receptionist number 3, let’s call her Ginger, was having a telephone conversation that went something vaguely like… “Hahaha wacha wewe, ati alisema nini?” (Let me translate for my foreign friends: (*insert laughter, get serious, what did she/he say again?))Etc. I patiently waited for Ginger to finish her call which by all means must have been more important that my million shillings deal that I had prepared for. Then without so much as acknowledging that I have been standing there for the last 10 minutes opens a book and starts reading.

**Whooosssaaa***

Thank God I was not PMSing on that day because I would have dropped a whole load of shit on that b* and by the time I am through with her she would not have been able to remember her name let alone where she came from. But as I said earlier was trying not to kill my mojo. So wearing my million dollar smile I asked politely if ‘So and So’ could be alerted that I had arrived. She made a few attempts to call and then she asked me to find a place to sit she will call me when she finds them.

I waited for another twenty minutes in which time I updated my facebook page, followed a few more trends on twitter and checked out two or three blogs on my phone. Finally I had had it, as so would any other young woman who has been forced to wait in a lobby that doubles up as a banking hall in a hot and humid city where people need DEODORANT USE to be introduced in the school curricula as well as in a Government drive in Civic Education.

So I called my office, who then called the person I was hoping to see to inform them that I have been waiting for the past half an hour. They came out in a few minutes, apologized profusely for keeping me since they did not even know that I was waiting. How so noble.

What happened to professionalism? Needless to say, Had I reported them to their boss they would have kept telling everyone from Mombasa to Timbuktu how women are unsavory to other women and how women do not like seeing other women in power and all those stupid things that dumb women say to explain their unprofessionalism and lack of office etiquette amongst other unattractive attributes.

What we ‘women’ hate is unprofessionalism and we hate people who do not wear their womanhood with pride. Management comes naturally to us as women; however most of us behave like we need someone to force it down us using a branded sledgehammer.

If you are a receptionist, a secretary or the CEO, you best handle that responsibility like you handle your home; with all the might you have, do it and do it well. Being a receptionist means you wear a smile welcome guests (male or female), attend to them, and apologize for keeping them or for having to receive an important call as he/she is waiting.

Some of us hold our time as importantly as we hold our money. We want to finish our day early so that we can catch with friends and family later in the evening. So taking even 5 minutes of my time is unkind, and a criminal offence, because unlike a stolen watch, phone, gold or buckets of money, time cannot be replaced.

I hope to God one or two people read this post and change their thickly thick ways.

“If a man is called to be a streetsweeper, he should sweep streets even as Michelangelo painted, or Beethoven composed music, or Shakespeare wrote poetry. He should sweep streets so well that all the host of heaven and earth will pause to say, here lived a great streetsweeper who did his job well.”
— Martin Luther King Jr.

LipstickNotes

2 Comments

  1. PMpSat, 05 May 2012 14:06:47 +000006Saturday 17, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  2. PMpMon, 14 May 2012 13:06:58 +000006Monday 17, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    Hi Elijah! thank you very much.


Leave a Reply

