Burberry, The Rains and I do…

Image

Friday 27th April 2012. My friend is getting married on Friday! Yaaay! A close of an era!

Weddings are very happy occasions where I come from. There is alot of singing, eating, dancing and drinking…some others may call it feasting but its a sum total of those four small basic aspects. Then there is the most important bit of the wedding… *drum rolls* DRESSING UP!!

Dressing up is very important, you only attend a wedding when you know you will try and look good. Everyone looks good! Its the pomp and color in a wedding that adds to its grandeur!

I know what some of you judgemental peeps are thinking, that I may have forgotten the real meaning of a wedding; celebrating nuptials. i know that! I do know that two people after lengthy discussions agree to call up a few friends and relatives to witness them vowing to God to love each other (never mind that no one can really explain  the love theorem between two adults, discuss its expected lifespan and its possible gains other than sex) so yeah I do know the real meaning of weddings.And I love them!

Back to the real story, so it’s been raining cats dogs and bulls in Nairobi.Hence my outfit for the wedding is inappropriate. My short, sleeveless dress and high heels do not go hand in hand with tempratures of below or around 15 degrees Celcius or the muddy puddle that Nairobi is right now.

Someone suggested that I wear a Burberry trenchcoat and boots…apparently I do not own any such clothing items in my wardrobe and i do not have enough time for shopping before the wedding. Where I live one might be charged with possesion of undeclarable items for being in possesion of such clothing items.

You see if i was half as beautiful as my friend Fey (Pictured above) I would walk into the wedding ceremony in a sack and old torn socks and i would still look appropriate.But the Almighty knew what mischief I would be upto with these looks in tow!

Thing is the beautiful soul that am dating believes as long as you can cover the nakedness you may go anywhere in anything…upto and including the moon.

He asks me and i quote, “Whats the issue babe? Youknow you look absolutely amazing! Why dont you wear that black dress? You would look smashing”

Never mind that the black dress being mentioned here is an official dress that I wear to work!

*Sigh* Someone teach this my man how to be appropriate!

LipstickNotes

4 Comments

  1. PMpWed, 25 Apr 2012 17:54:17 +000054Wednesday 17, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    awwww I love weddings!

  2. PMpWed, 25 Apr 2012 18:04:53 +000004Wednesday 17, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    I look forward to weddings each year. Yesterday another friend of mine got engaged! ah another fabulous time to look fabulously hot!

  3. MissJ said,

    AMpMon, 30 Apr 2012 09:27:26 +000027Monday 17, 2012 at 9:27 am

    ha ha ha the black dress you wear to work? very funny…..does he even understand that there are different earing for diffrent occassions? like purple/red earrings maybe more appropriate for wedding while silver/gold may go well with offce wear….does he also understand that wedding=color? ohhh I want to be a man in my next life..
    Ohh and yes your Fay is HOT!

  4. PMpMon, 14 May 2012 13:03:51 +000003Monday 17, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    Miss Jay…He is Clueless i tell you. Totally Clueless!!! If there was a school that could give him some clues i would enroll him right away 🙂
    The other day he told me he does not see the reason why anyone should have different shoes for different occasions… I gave up then!


Leave a Reply

